Missouri Baptist University Athletics
MBU Spartans
MBU News
News Photo
MBU Spartans - Wed, Sep. 13, 2017

SAINT LOUIS – [PURCHASE TICKETSMissouri Baptist Athletics announced its 2017 Spartan Hall of Fame class on Wednesday, and the four inductees were weighted heavily toward lacrosse. Three of the four inductees are former Spartan Lacrosse players, including former men's players Ben Hughes and David Justvig. Amanda Sullivan, former National Women's Lacrosse League Player of the Year will represent the sport on the women's side along with former Men's Basketball Head Coach Tony Tompkins.

Hughes, a St. Louis native and graduate of Vianney High School, was a standout goalkeeper for the Spartans. He was a former Men's Collegiate Lacrosse Association (MCLA) First Team All-American and Academic All-American selection in his time at MBU. He was also a 2010 and 2011 All-Conference First Team selection and was named the Great River Lacrosse Association (GRLC) Defensive Player of the Year in 2011.

Justvig, who still holds the majority of the scoring records for the Spartans, was a standout and is a first ballot selection. The former Attack from St. Louis (Fox H.S.) is still the All-Time leading scorer in GRLC Division II history. He was not only a three-time All-American in his time at Missouri Baptist, but was also featured in the MCLA Magazine in a piece titled "Under the Helmet, with David Justvig." He was named the GRLC Division II Player of the Year during his time with the Spartans.

Sullivan, who was most recently the Missouri Baptist Women's Lacrosse Head Coach, has since moved-on back home to Texas with fiancée and former men's player, Brad Keel, but her legacy on the field has stood the test of time. Sullivan is the All-Time leading scorer in Missouri Baptist history and has racked-up every offensive award offered by the NWLL. She was the 2011 National Player of the Year, a First-Team All-American, First Team All-Conference selection and was the Team Captain in each of her four years on the squad. In 2011, she scored a minimum of three goals per conference game and finished with 56 goals on the season.

The final inductee will be former Spartan Men's Basketball Head Coach, Anthony "Tony" Tompkins. In five seasons at the helm, he won 110 games with a 70 percent winning percentage. He guided the Spartans to two American Midwest Conference Championships and earned back-to-back trips to Kansas City for the NAIA National Championship Tournament. Those finishes helped Tompkins to garner AMC Coach of the Year honors in the 2003-04 and 2004-05 seasons.

The 2017 Missouri Baptist Hall of Fame induction ceremony and banquet will be held on Thursday, October 19 at 6:00 p.m. in the R. Alton Lacey Gymnasium inside the Carl and Deloris Petty Sports and Recreation Complex. Tickets for the event are $35 and can be purchased online by going to www.mbuhofbanquet.com